In Spain, some paprika is made by smoking the peppers dry, infusing a smoky flavor in the resulting spice. 8 years ago. … Taste: Smoky Most Popular Use: Meat, vegetables, sauces, stews Smoked paprika is a Spanish cousin to the more widely used sweet Hungarian paprika… Where Does Spanish Paprika or Pimentón Come From? Talking about Spanish paprika then they range from mild to hot, and there are three forms of it i.e. History Notes. Our 31-day calendar of meals and tips shows you how to cook more and love it with fun, family-friendly meals that come together quickly and deliciously. We use smoked paprika, called pimentón in Spanish, to lend a deep red color and a sweet, smoky, raisin-like … Spanish Vs. Hungarian Paprika: Know that when a recipe calls for Hungarian paprika, ... Paprika is a good taste enhancer, ... 41042 on November 11, 2010: Yeah, I've been cooking for probably 40 years. Credit: The paprika used in Hungary is generally of the sweet (read: not spicy) variety. He’d left Spain in search of the spice trade of the Indies, and assumed he’d found it in the Americas. The Turks acquired Paprika plants via South American and Spanish trade. Add it to honey to create a meat glaze that will pair well with strongly flavored meats like beef. a bit too much in. Typically just labeled as paprika, this spice adds vibrant color to any dish. It can be sprinkled as a garnish over deviled eggs or potato salad, or used as a flavoring for meat rubs. Smoked Sweet Paprika – Smoked Sweet Paprika is called by a few other names around the world including pimenton, smoked pimenton, sweet paprika, or Spanish paprika. Your Vegetarian Guide to Seville 2020, The 7 Best Sherry Bodegas in Jerez de la Frontera, Where to Eat in Jerez, Spain: Your Ultimate Foodie Guide 2020, How Learning to Bake Sourdough Made Me a Better Person, The 9 Best Natural Wine Bars in Barcelona, 2020, Spanish Paprika: The Spicy History of Pimentón, Unsmoked Spanish Paprika (D.O. This sweet and smoky substance add