You may encounter a problem when running a script on the Linux CLI that results in error: bad substitution and a failed script run. A similar syntax but with , instead of ^ allows to convert strings from uppercase to lowercase: Now let’s try to run this with an earlier version of Bash. Unix & Linux: Bad substitution trying to rename extensionHelpful? bash documentation: Double quotes for variable and command substitution Well, I'm new to tek-tips (I've just registered) and I see your question has still no answer. # 1 11-23-2007 xfouxs. So, how can I convert this string into uppercase? Strictly Necessary Cookie should be enabled at all times so that we can save your preferences for cookie settings. You can't put an expression like $(pwd) inside a parameter expansion construct, because Bash expects it to be a parameter, not an expression. Reply. Incorrect ways of using command substitution. Does the error you are seeing in your script fit one of the scenarios above? If you do, you will never cease to grow. This is a simple problem in the end that cost me serious troubleshooting time. Two common causes for this error are the incorrect use of command substitution and incorrect characters added to the lines of your script (for example extra dollar signs or white spaces). I'm gonna post this here because I feel like someone here would know the answer better. How to Replace a String in a File Using Bash, How to Get the Directory of a Bash Script. You can easily find string length using the following syntax: ${#variableName} … Omitting the colon results in a test only for a parameter that is unset. Let’s look at other reasons for the same syntax error…. Such a releif, wanted to upgrade bash, but was sceptical, glad i found this. I have used ${ } around the ls command, instead command substitution requires $( ) around the command. Bash performs the expansion by executing command in a subshell environment and replacing the command substitution with the standard output of the