If there is one, it will be a non-disposable one located in the pan to replace after draining.Replace the drain plug after draining. Renegade, Outlander & MX, DS450 and more! How To Fix An Oil Leak In Under 1 Hour. Oil drain plug leaking DefenderSSV.com is an unofficial enthusiast website dedicated to the Can-Am Defender. In the meantime, I want some real advice from you guys. I had the same problem, I went to an Auto value store and got a fiber washer. A leaky oil drain plug can be caused by several issues, most of which are accessible to the moderately experienced DIY car owner. At the same end if you over tighten you oil plug you can strip the threads inside the oil pan. Only 19 left in stock - order soon. The last thing you want is for the plug to fail completely and unexpectedly dump all your oil out. Oil Change. Over-tightening plugs is the cause of many a problem, and as a young apprentice I was guilty of that and a lot worse. Do it right or don’t do it at all ©, 2019 Rick Muscoplat. FREE Shipping on orders over $25 shipped by Amazon. That will destroy your engine. I performed the first oil change on my 2015 570 and inadvertainly forgot to put the crush washer back on the drain plug (it fell in to the used oil and I didn't see it until I was disposing of the used oil) Should I drain the oil and put the washer back on? A lot of us don't think about how clean the actual ATV is during an oil change. I love all kinds of machinery and this site is where I share the love, knowledge and know-how for ATV's and dirt bikes. its just a hex head bolt at the back left side of the engine casing. I’ve been a mechanic for over twenty years, I use my knowledge and experience to write articles that help fellow gear-heads with all aspects of ATV ownership, from maintenance, repair to troubleshooting. Trying a over sized drain plug on a oil pan with messed up threads. Ever since then there has been a slow leak of oil from the drain plug. You can turn the gas off on the machine a